A Feminine Journey

The tall compound walls left unclimbed

The late night movies left unwatched

That short pair of shorts left unworn

The night-out-with-friends that never happened

The over-night trips that were never made

Those dates left unaccepted

Isn’t that the story of the ‘protected’ Indian girlhood?

But then, just as a pupa turns

Into a butterfly,

So, womanhood bestowed on me

Blessings unimagined.

Liberty- you finally found me!

The colours of womanhood

In pink, burgundy and red,

Livened me up no end.

The freedom to pass comments unchecked

Clothed in sweet feminine guile.

When I cry at the movies

Or impishly act childish

-I am, but thought more womanly πŸ™‚

I can wear my hair at any length, any hue

and I’m Athena, too-lovely

I can fake my height with stilettos steep

And be looked up to by all and sundry.

I do let my eyes brim and

Thus weather masculine winds of wrath.

And I do lose my temper at will

And then blame it all on woman-fickle.

Command, direct, order

-Yes, you are a woman of power.

Beseech, plead, comply-

Yes, you are the softest-o, woman.

Symmetry- my best friend,

Lending me a nice time- accesorizing, accentuating

and redefining my contours.

And then, the crowning gift- induction

into that warm fraternity where

the girls ALWAYS look out for you:

From warning about the boss’s mood

To tips on dressing good.

From weighty calorific info

To light afternoon fluff-o.

I celebrate womanhood,

Here I do belong.

P.S: This is dedicated to all the women in my life- amma, chechma, varsh, neba, hima, abeesha, sou, tom, suryachechi, harini ma’m, neelam ma’m, madhuri, smriti, treasa, neetika, deepti, sucheta and sonia.

P.P.S: I owe this piece to my office coz I had wantonly decided 2 speak (only for a couple of min, but still..) before the other women in my office as part of the woman’s day celebrations and had to come up with something worthy. IntendΒ to present a slightly altered version next week; maybe a change from ‘me, me’ to ‘us, us’..But then, wanted to give it an outing and am sincerely, nervously awaiting responses. Please do comment, it might help me πŸ™‚

About rashmenon

Hello there! Please look up- https://rashscribbles.wordpress.com/2011/02/27/hello-world/
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Feminine Journey

  1. “And I do lose my temper at will

    And then blame it all on woman-fickle.”

    ^^truth

  2. dewdrop says:

    “the girls ALWAYS look out for you:

    From warning about the boss’s mood

    To tips on dressing good.

    From weighty calorific info

    To light afternoon fluff-o.

    I celebrate womanhood,

    Here I do belong.”

    Loved it, especially these lines πŸ™‚

  3. Neetika says:

    You’re a woman of today,
    yes, thats who you are
    You shine so much brighter
    that any other star
    When you recite this,
    they r gonna love it for sure
    And wen its over,
    they’ll be screaming for more!!
    Now i hope i haven’t taken up
    much of your time
    Your words were so pretty
    that i wanted to appreciate them in rhyme:-)

  4. Nabel says:

    Simply superbb….i just loved it echmi..

    When I cry at the movies

    Or impishly act childish

    -I am, but thought more womanly πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

