Daughter

She sounded warm enough

But why did I feel like I was walking on egg-

shells, like the ones we used to pick

on the sea-shore, her hand pressed

into mine, in one grip-for-a-life-

time, o, why did you have to do this to me

and leave me, holding on to ribbons

of memories, of me and her, forever in that timeless frame

that hangs on my wall, and she walled

from me, if I only knew why, I would

set it right, I know I will.

For laughter natural, peals like pearls

she gifted me saved up from her job at the store.

For chats-over-chips, legs dangling and touching 

each other, a pairing I’ll never tire of.

For shopping expeditions, coquetting

and pouting, taking me back to my toddler,

my littlest one.

For midnight coffee-sessions and secrets whispered,

like Chinese-whispers she so loved.

I want my baby back, please,

please.

About rashmenon

Hello there! Please look up- https://rashscribbles.wordpress.com/2011/02/27/hello-world/
This entry was posted in daughter, poetry, relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

