Cutting blue

Scissored thoughts

cut through

that softly rainy day

when the mist made a monocle of my glasses

and i sat, a hollow one-eyed whisper,

rummaging through that cup-board

of carefully folded words

which turned around

and bit the day into aย hideous blue,

and dashed ahead,

coloring days past

in that unhappy hue,

connived with the moth balls

and choked my silky stolen glances,

trampled on my many ignored missives,

mocking me and my misplaced faith in them.

 

how do i string them back together

and re-plait my timid memories

out of those blue blue letters

that are dancing away,

out of reach

even as i write

this last pleading line.

P.S: Written for Trifecta Week Thirty-Two. Do check out the theme and the other entries atย http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com/2012/06/trifecta-week-thirty-two.html

P.P.S: i’m over the moon; this piece won the Trifecta Challenge; yay ๐Ÿ™‚

About rashmenon

Hello there! Please look up- https://rashscribbles.wordpress.com/2011/02/27/hello-world/
This entry was posted in award, colours, emotions, moods, poetry, relationships, time, trifecta and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Cutting blue

  1. Neetika says:

    I can’t decide which lines i like the best… you’ve handpicked each word so carefully and put it all together in a beautiful heartwrenching piece. so very touching and so thoroughly Blue (sigh)

  2. Annabelle says:

    Love the phrase “hollow one-eyed whisper.” This is blue but lovely at the same time.

  3. Christine says:

    This is lovely! I love the line “coloring days past / in that unhappy hue.” That alliteration is really nice.

    By the way – your link on the Trifecta page takes one back to the Trifecta page, not your entry! I got here directly, but you might want to delete your link and re-post it.

  4. whimsygizmo says:

    Oh my word. This is fantastic. Especially:
    “and i sat, a hollow one-eyed whisper,

    rummaging through that cup-board

    of carefully folded words

    which turned around

    and bit the day into a hideous blue”

    By far my favorite this week.

  5. I especially loved the lines, carefully folded words and bit the day into a hideous blue. Really lovely flow and imagery.
    Thanks for linking up. Please come back tomorrow for the new challenge.

  6. i love how it all flows together, a truly lovely, blue write

  7. debseeman says:

    Since I am smack in the middle of a writing dry spell, this colored me perfectly since I felt the pain of struggling for words to write. Decided to drop in on the prompt and at least read and support and boy am I glad I did. I really love this. A lot. And you deserved the big win! Congrats!

  8. Lilian says:

    This is really great. A well-deserved win!

Leave a Reply

