Holes

Tears rolled down her sagging cheeks even as she kept rubbing at her already-reddened eyes. The story came out in bits and spluttering spurts, punctuated by little sobs here and there. “Thoday is your birthday this week. I wanthed to make you something very special. I did thoo.” said she, looking my way every now and then as if to make sure I hadn’t gone up in smoke. I nodded. Satisfied, she went on-” you know that good leather folder papa gave you when you passed high school? I drew a birthday card on it- hearts and love and everything. This morning, when i wenth to wrap ith up, ith was full of holes! Ith’s all their fault, bad bad leather-eathers!” she said, shaking her foot at the termites who were having a ball on a nearby rotting tree bark. I gently prised the leather folder she was clutching to her breast out of her grip; all that remained was a childish scrawl at the top-“hi! i’m ___ and i’m completely in love with you!” and a slightly ragged heart at the corner. I was touched. “I love it. It’s fantabulous!” I exclaimed and she shrieked in delight. “I’ll make a good good one for your nexth week’s birthday and i’ll know my name’s letthers thoo then” said she and I smiled.

P.S: Linked to Trifecta Writing Challenge. Do check out this weekend’s theme and the entries atΒ http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com/2012/11/trifextra-week-forty-two.html

 

About rashmenon

Hello there! Please look up- https://rashscribbles.wordpress.com/2011/02/27/hello-world/
This entry was posted in define, emotions, friendship, nature, relationships, short short story, time, trifecta and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Holes

  1. balchan says:

    So different from your style of writing.
    Liked this piece very much. Quite different style of writing.

  2. Draug419 says:

    awww thoo cute (:

  3. Lumdog says:

    This is a very sweet story. Nice job integrating the pics.

  4. This is cute, very cute.

  5. Lance says:

    I like the lighter but with depth approach to the prompt(s). I read this mroe than once. Enjoyed it.

  6. Trifecta says:

    This is a really interesting response. Like someone else said, so different from the usual. Great job.

  7. Sweet story. I love the vocabulary, the reality of it. Nice work.

  8. Linda Vernon says:

    I enjoyed this story –very imaginative! πŸ˜€

  9. jannatwrites says:

    I like your creative response to the prompt done from a child’s view.

    • rashmenon says:

      Thanks, Janna πŸ™‚ Actually, when I wrote it, I meant it to be from the perspective of a younger sister writing about her older sister who is a little ‘different’, a little more soft-hearted and vulnerable than most people and whose perception of reality is different. Happy to see a slightly different interpretation though πŸ™‚

  10. What a different narrator! Sweet.

Leave a Reply

