the root of the matter

In that fuzzy area |where black meets brown, where elastic natural | slopes into the nape of a neck, down dear and delicate | ruminates | on new beginnings, roots of things, hair strands, and unhappenings. ( linked to Trifecta Writing Challenge @ http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com. This time, the challenge is to write about new beginnings in exactly 33 words. As i’m posting this one from my relic of a phone, i’ve used parallel lines to indicate the end of a line 🙂 )

About rashmenon

Hello there! Please look up- https://rashscribbles.wordpress.com/2011/02/27/hello-world/
Aside | This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to the root of the matter

  1. jasmine calyx says:

    Oh my word, this is incredible. You have an excellent ear.

  2. I linked you. This is lovely. Thanks for doing the work on the old phone to make it happen. It was well worth it.

  3. Donna Kiser says:

    This is great. Love the flow and rhythm.
    dk

  4. Draug419 says:

    Good to know I’m not the only one who stares at the back of necks like a total creeper (:

  5. atrm61 says:

    “..roots of things, hair strands, and unhappenings. “-Ah!Now I will never be able to look at any nape,disinterestedly,lol!Great bit of writing this-very creative:-)

  6. Lovely flow – down dear and delicate – I like that. It makes me want to run my fingers through a loved one’s hair. Very nice piece.

  7. kymminbarcelona says:

    Pitch-perfect wording and so endearing!

  8. Stacie says:

    So good! Especially for on the fly via phone.

  9. Christine says:

    Beautiful, every word!

  10. jannatwrites says:

    This is awesome! I’ve been so distracted by an unruly neckline of hair, that I’ve sat through the church service wishing I had a razor just to clean it up a bit. Then I scold myself and wait for the bolt of lightning to strike me for not paying attention to the message.

  11. Found you in the comments section at Trifecta! This is meaningful for me because my daughter struggles with compulsive hair pulling, so it’s all about the new root and the starting over again. Very nicely done! Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.com/2013/01/13/the-journey-trifecta/

    • rashmenon says:

      🙂 Here’s wishing your daughter nicer hair that pleases her better and which she no longer feels like pulling. I do it too when i’m tense- finger and finger until i finally yank it out by the root 😐

  12. Your 33 words just blew me away. The feeling in this is simply gripping! And I just had to read it aloud to myself couple of times, it resonates so beautifully! Looking forward to dwelling deeper into your poetry.

Leave a Reply

