man-hole

red and raw on the inside

like rare steak cooked

not at all

fibres in red and bluish green

course through mapping

in vein

over

fat whitish and glutinous.

cut a lil deeper

and there’s white again-

brittle china-bone white

knobbed and rounded

all wrapped up

in smooth elastic paper

in nude and ebony

and what have you not

but it’s the fleshy bow

that i love the most

with its soft and supple

easy hurt

its ready and willing

enamelled smile

the eternally young

cupid mouth:

who’d call that the entrance(d)

to the man-hole?

P.S: Linked to Trifecta Writing Challenge (http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com/2013/01/trifecta-week-sixty-two.html)

 

About rashmenon

Hello there! Please look up- https://rashscribbles.wordpress.com/2011/02/27/hello-world/
This entry was posted in beauty, colours, define, poetry, shape, spine, trifecta, yellow lens and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to man-hole

  1. deanabo says:

    I love your descriptions in this! Very well written.

  2. Draug419 says:

    This is so…I don’t know…lush lol The descriptions are awesome (:

  3. Can’t quite figure what to make of this, Rashmi, but I keep coming back. Lush sounds good.

    • rashmenon says:

      🙂 I too had lil idea what this one was going to be- a human being in flesh and blood and a red cupid mouth just emerged on hisown or maybe her own. Gender of the person is still indeterminate in my mind 🙂 Good to have you drop by, Kymm

  4. Neetika says:

    I’m a bit relieved to see that others are as confused as i was when i read it!!

  5. habibadanyal says:

    I liked the sound of it but I am confused as well. If this is something a student of anatomy should’ve guessed then I should die of shame 😛

  6. sugarhighdd says:

    Um…loved the description…but the last lines kind of made me lose my appetite XD

  7. barbara says:

    man – hole – entrance(d)

    wow – just wow

  8. steph says:

    I love reading poetry even if I don’t always get it. I love the opening – like a rare steak cooked not at all – and the white and glutinous fat. Vivid images. I don’t need to understand what it is to appreciate the art.

  9. jannatwrites says:

    I love how you do word play – especially “who’d call that the entrance(d) to the man-hole?”

  10. Wowza. This has sex written all over it. Off to fan myself.

Leave a Reply

