A Hurt Earth

She had borne
So much,
Her veins cut,
Her scalp bled…
Her darkest chambers
Of distilled suffering
Shivered tectonically,
Threw liquid stone
In angry orange bolts:
Her scarred self avenged-
A pebbly little.

P.S- Linked to Trifecta

About rashmenon

Hello there! Please look up- https://rashscribbles.wordpress.com/2011/02/27/hello-world/
This entry was posted in colours, define, emotions, nature, poetry, trifecta and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A Hurt Earth

  1. Eric Misener says:

    I love the idea of this piece. The language is, for the most part, awesome. My only comment would be that the last line seems a bit anti-climactic. I think a strong ending would make this a classic. Thanks.

  2. Eric Misener says:

    Hmmm. I see… OK, I think I get it a bit more with that explanation. I think it’s the word “pebbly” that gives me pause; I understand that it’s stone-related, but I wonder if there may have been a stronger choice. In any event, a nice piece, thank you for sharing…

  3. Lovely, scary imagery.

  4. Draug419 says:

    Ooo I like the description of the volcano.

  5. De Jackson says:

    You’ve turned so many words right on their ears in this piece. LOVE “liquid stone,” especially. Always, always love your work.

  6. jannatwrites says:

    This is a beautifully written description of an eruption. “Shivered tectonically” and “liquid stone” are my favorite phrases 🙂

  7. Christine says:

    Very nice metaphor! I agree that the last line could have been a touch stronger, but only because the rest of the piece is so forceful. Great job!

  8. So perfectly written for a traumatized Mother Earth.

  9. Wonderful personification. Sometimes I feel like I should to take a lesson on how to “throw liquid stone”!

Leave a Reply

