the length of my shadow

my dear,

please don’t  turn,

walk on past the corner

without missing a step.

i can spare not a tear

and if you but falter,

it’ll infect me- thinly resolute,

assail even my silhouette.

let me save

at least my shadow

and stretch it

into another day,

even if there isn’t enough light

to spark my shadow

to life again,

i can’t bear to burn

it up anymore.

The Shadow- Courtesy:themineers.blogspot.com

The Shadow- Courtesy:themineers.blogspot.com

P.S: Linked to Trifecta (http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com/2013/03/trifecta-week-sixty-nine.html)

About rashmenon

Hello there! Please look up- https://rashscribbles.wordpress.com/2011/02/27/hello-world/
This entry was posted in define, emotions, intimacy, poetry, relationships, thought, time, trifecta and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to the length of my shadow

  1. Queen Gen says:

    That’s pretty. But is “thin resolute” correct? Do you mean “resolve”?

  2. habibadanyal says:

    Beautiful. They say every one has their own interpretation of poetry. I deciphered the long shadow as the ability to stand tall after the dearest person has left you and refrain from falling down on your knees.

  3. rashmenon says:

    🙂 consider it done 🙂

  4. whimsygizmo says:

    Oh, my. YES. This is fantastic.
    I especially love:

    “let me save

    at least my shadow

    and stretch it

    into another day,

    even if there isn’t enough light”

  5. deanabo says:

    This is really good!

  6. Draug419 says:

    This is so good. Adding it to my favorites list for this week (:

  7. Christine says:

    Gorgeous, every word! It complements De’s piece really well (Whimsygizmo) – between the two of you, I could just drown. 🙂

    • rashmenon says:

      golly gee, i suddenly feel very special. thank you, Christine 🙂 Yes, De has done a fabulous job just like always 🙂

      • Christine says:

        I can’t explain why I associate the two of you in my head; you both have such an amazingly lovely talent for putting just the right words together in just the right way, and invoking just the right emotions. You are immensely talented, in my opinion.

      • rashmenon says:

        Thank you, Christine. Coming from a writer i adore and being linked up with a poet i’m crazy about, that meant a lot to me.

  8. and if you but falter,
    it’ll infect me- thinly resolute,
    Killed it, Rashmi!

  9. jannatwrites says:

    I feel like my comments always say the same thing – this was yet another wonderful poem! I especially like the stretching of shadows.

  10. balchan says:

    “Kisko phursat hain, jo dhaame, deewanon ka haath ?

    Humko apne SAAYA thak aksar besaar laga ! “

Leave a Reply

